Firewire via PCIe Card

Optimize your system for ultimate performance.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

siabost9deas
Established Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 6:35 pm

Firewire via PCIe Card

Postby siabost9deas » Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:30 pm

Hi All,

I am currently configuring an Optiplex 390 small form factor Core i3 PC to be a music studio running Kubuntu 18.04 with KXStudio repos and a Low-Latency Kernel.
I am looking to purchase a Firewire Roland Edirol FA-66 for it, which research indicates should run flawlessly on Linux.
To do this I need to install a PCIe Firewire card (a half-height one at that). I'm looking at Sedna PCIe card which supports 400/200/100Mbps on Amazon.

Will all PCIe Firewire cards work in Linux or do I have to beware of certain chip-sets as with WiFi Cards?
Also, will 400Mbps be sufficient in regard to running the FA-66 or other similar device?

Many thanks.

Joermungand
Established Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:19 pm

Re: Firewire via PCIe Card

Postby Joermungand » Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:52 pm

As usual with FireWire audio, the chipset is crucial, irrespective of the operating system. Stay away from anything VIA, they are not suitable for audio purposes. Texas Instruments are generally said to work, as well as LSI/Agere, but I would research the actual model before buying. I’m using this: https://www.startech.com/uk/Cards-Adapters/FireWire/3-Port-2b-1a-1394-PCI-Express-FireWire-Card-Adapter~PEX1394B3, which has a Texas Instruments chipset and works flawlessly with my Focusrite Saffire Pro 26.
Edit: I’ve only used the 400 port so far, so that should pose no significant problem.

siabost9deas
Established Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 6:35 pm

Re: Firewire via PCIe Card

Postby siabost9deas » Mon Mar 11, 2019 4:46 pm

Thanks Joermungand,

I went for the 2x400 port version of that Startech card. Budget is a bit stretched.

Supplementary question:
If I plug in two firewire soundcards (one in each port) would I be able to use them simultaneously? For example, plug in 2No 2-input cards to get 4-inputs. Possibly Jack wouldn't allow that?

Joermungand
Established Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:19 pm

Re: Firewire via PCIe Card

Postby Joermungand » Mon Mar 11, 2019 5:11 pm

Using multiple cards to extend your inputs is always tricky because of syncing issues. Perhaps buying an interface that provides the required amount of inputs/outputs is the safest bet here. I’ve never tried to use two interfaces at once, but I know it’s a regular can of worms to open.

Joermungand
Established Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:19 pm

Re: Firewire via PCIe Card

Postby Joermungand » Tue Mar 12, 2019 6:25 am

siabost9deas wrote:I went for the 2x400 port version of that Startech card. Budget is a bit stretched.


I’ve taken a look at the 2-port options, and if you selected this: https://www.startech.com/uk/Cards-Adapters/FireWire/2-Port-1394a-PCI-Express-FireWire-Card~PEX1394A2V, please note that it doesn’t have a Texas Instruments chipset, but a VIA one, so I don’t think it’s a good option.

siabost9deas
Established Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 6:35 pm

Re: Firewire via PCIe Card

Postby siabost9deas » Tue Mar 26, 2019 1:12 pm

Thanks.
Unfortunately I only noticed that after it had arrived. I've since returned it and found one for a extra £10 that definitely does have a TI chip.
Have also bought a Roland Edirol FA-66 firewire soundcard which works perfectly out of the box :D

Joermungand
Established Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:19 pm

Re: Firewire via PCIe Card

Postby Joermungand » Tue Mar 26, 2019 6:36 pm

Great to hear it’s sorted out. It might be useful to share a link to the card’s product page or at least the make and model, just in case somebody stumbles on this thread looking for the same thing.

siabost9deas
Established Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 6:35 pm

Re: Firewire via PCIe Card

Postby siabost9deas » Wed Mar 27, 2019 10:42 am

This is the card I bought (although it seems not to be available on Amazon UK anymore).
https://amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B007MO8 ... UTF8&psc=1
It's an IOCREST SY-PEX30016.
Here's the new version on the manufacturer's website (both have TI chipsets):
http://www.iocrest.com/en/product_details262.html


Return to “System Tuning and Configuration”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest