Utility to show the load of each CPU ?

Optimize your system for ultimate performance.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

jonetsu
Established Member
Posts: 1426
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 12:05 am

Utility to show the load of each CPU ?

Postby jonetsu » Sun Jun 02, 2019 2:26 pm

Is there a utility around that can show the total load of each CPU, in the same vein as this one I've seen for Windows:


monitor.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Jack Winter
Established Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 3:52 pm

Re: Utility to show the load of each CPU ?

Postby Jack Winter » Sun Jun 02, 2019 3:53 pm

I use gkrellm.
Reaper/KDE/Archlinux. i7-2600k/16GB + i7-4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, WA273-EQ, 2 x WA-412, ADL-600, Tegeler TRC, etc 8) For REAPER on Linux information: https://wiki.cockos.com/wiki/index.php/REAPER_for_Linux

User avatar
nikgnomicradio
Established Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 9:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Utility to show the load of each CPU ?

Postby nikgnomicradio » Sun Jun 02, 2019 4:29 pm

I have xfce4-taskmnager that looks similar

but use conky to display CPU information and also temperatures/fan speed on desktop

User avatar
English Guy
Established Member
Posts: 461
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: England

Re: Utility to show the load of each CPU ?

Postby English Guy » Sun Jun 02, 2019 5:07 pm

The command line utility htop will show this

folderol
Established Member
Posts: 907
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:06 pm
Location: Here, of course!
Contact:

Re: Utility to show the load of each CPU ?

Postby folderol » Sun Jun 02, 2019 5:35 pm

Jack Winter wrote:I use gkrellm.

same here.

Jamesf
Established Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 12:23 pm

Re: Utility to show the load of each CPU ?

Postby Jamesf » Mon Jun 03, 2019 9:58 am

Jack Winter wrote:I use gkrellm.

Thirded.
It'll also give you memory and swap utilisation, plus disk and network traffic. And a bunch more things, if you want them.

jonetsu
Established Member
Posts: 1426
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 12:05 am

Re: Utility to show the load of each CPU ?

Postby jonetsu » Mon Jun 03, 2019 8:51 pm

Thanks for all the suggestions. As I read them I realized that people would immediately think that this is for system monitoring, which is normal. Although actually it is for testing multiple approaches in C++11 memory models regarding various async tasks, threads, mutex, spinlocks, packaged tasks, condition variables, etc... and strong to weak memory models, acquire-release approaches, etc... This is why I've shown the screen shot showing 4 CPUs. A test could last about 1 second, often less. During that time it should be clearly shown what CPUs did what in terms of resources.

I have used gkrellm in the past as a system monitor. Always had it in one corner. I also used htop. I find, at least last time I tried, which was some time ago, that these do no provide a clear picture of what 4 CPUs can do in say 250ms. Since I run Xubuntu I tried the xfce4-taskmnager. It only has a 1-CPU display though, and its fastest latency is 500ms.

Cheers.

folderol
Established Member
Posts: 907
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:06 pm
Location: Here, of course!
Contact:

Re: Utility to show the load of each CPU ?

Postby folderol » Mon Jun 03, 2019 9:03 pm

I only ever once heard of a fast CPU monitor, and that was hand-crafted by someone - who pointed out that the utility itself would then add a considerable overhead. That was some years ago, and sorry but I can't remember any more than that.

jonetsu
Established Member
Posts: 1426
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 12:05 am

Re: Utility to show the load of each CPU ?

Postby jonetsu » Tue Jun 11, 2019 10:04 pm

For now I've settled on htop.

To update each 100ms:

htop -d 1

htop uses ncurses, so it could be that the screen updates are more specific.

The regular top will also show 4 CPUs, although the screen updates seems much more slower

For top:

1 : to show all CPUs
s .1 : for a refresh rate of 100 ms

Both have many options, I only very quickly took a look.


htop:


htop.jpg



top:


top.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Return to “System Tuning and Configuration”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest